fb pixel

Young Champions Crowned at 2021 HKODA Open & National Championships

by | 04/10/2021 | Local News, Racing Results, Sailing Bulletin, Youth Sailing

After 3 days of competitive racings over last weekend, the annual event came to a conclusion.
Organized by Hong Kong Optimist Dinghy Association, Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club and supported by Hong Kong Sailing Federation, this year’s event has attracted over 50 youngsters to compete. Though there were some challenging conditions due to the unstable weather during all 3 days, the sailors and volunteers all experienced hot and windless condition, also endured stormy weather. The regatta nevertheless was able to successfully conclude on the third day with total of 7 races for each division.
This year, the competition was divided into 2 divisions – Main Fleet and Intermediate Fleet. Prizes were also awarded to 12 & Under and 10 & Under categories. Youngster Peter Jessop of HHYC was leading the competition in Main Fleet from Race 3 onwards, ultimately crowned as the overall champion. For the Intermediate Fleet, the competition was much closer and intense, but Nicolas Tancock was able to come out on top as the champion of the division.
HKODA Open & National Championships are one of the major regattas for HKODA Optimist sailors annually. To get better at their HKODA ranking, next stop for them will be the Southside Regatta held by Aberdeen Boat Club, and we are looking forward to it!
Here are the winners of 2021 HKODA Open & National Championships:

Main Fleet

1st – Peter Jessop – HHYC
2nd – Ethan Kong – ABC
3rd – Cameron Law – ABC

1st Boy – Peter Jessop – HHYC
2nd Boy – Ethan Kong – ABC
3rd Boy – Cameron Law – ABC

1st Girl – Emily Polson – RHKYC
2nd Girl – Zihan Liu – RHKYC
3rd Girl – Ziyan Huang – RHKYC

Intermediate Fleet

1st – Nicolas Tancock – HHYC
2nd – Kian Anderson – HHYC
3rd – Navon C Z Li – Clearwater Bay

Combine Fleet (Main & Intermed)

1st 12 & Under – Zihan Liu – RHKYC
2nd 12 & Under – Yijiang Nicholas Zhan – ABC
3rd 12 & Under – Jai Mutreja – RHKYC

1st 10 & Under – Zixi Huang- RHKYC
2nd 10 & Under – Louis Polson – RHKYC
3rd 10 & Under – Chantal Henriksson – HHYC

More details on the event, please visit: https://www.hkoda.org/hkoda-national-championships-2021/